MYSTERY and  IMAGINATION

      on-line Bookstore

 Mystery, Detective, Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror


 
Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
BROWSE BY CATEGORY
Mystery.
Spy and Espionage Fiction.
Science Fiction/Fantasy.
Horror.
Ghost Stories.
Adventure Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Western Literature.
Black Literature.
Plays and Playwrights.
Poetry.
Literary Criticism.
Literary Biography.
Film History and Criticism.
Western Americana.
Californiana.
Children's Literature.
Illustrated Books.
Oziana.
Baumiana.
Signed.
Screenplays.
CHILDREN'S SHOWCASE
COMICS AND ANIMATION SHOWCASE
LITERATURE SHOWCASE
MYSTERY SHOWCASE
PERFORMING ARTS SHOWCASE
SF SHOWCASE
AMERICANA SHOWCASE
ART SHOWCASE
Paperback Originals.
Bibliomystery.

View a complete list of subjects
 
Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate
 
 
 

Ireland.

Ireland.

Click on Title to view full description

 
1 Brady, John A CARRA KING
South Royalton, Vermont: Steerforth Press, (2001). 1586420186 / 9781586420185 First U.S. edition: Uncorrected Proof. Proof. Fine in printed wraps. 
Sixth novel in the Inspector Matt Minogue mystery series. "Matt Minogue, the magnetic center of this superb series...and Brady's tone of battered lyricism are the music which keep drawing us back."--New York Times. 
Price: 10.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
2 Carroll, James MADONNA RED
Boston: Little, Brown and Company, (1976). First edition. Hardcover. Foxing to the top page edges, faint pen mark on the fore edge, else a very good plus copy in a very good plus dust jacket. 

Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
3 Cullen, Bill IT'S A LONG WAY FROM PENNY APPLES
New York: Forge/A Tom Doherty Associates Book, (2001). 0765307103 / 9780765307101 Reprint. Hardcover. Fine in a fine photo-pictorial dust jacket. 
Cullen's rags to riches autobiography is what Morgan Llywelyn calls "an exhilarating example of what one can achieve with determination and good humor. Cuchulainn and Brian Boru would be proud of this latter-day hero." 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
4 Fitzgerald, Nigel THE HOUSE IS FALLING
London: Collins/The Crime Club, (1955). First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Very good only: fading to spine, spine slant, minor foxing, offsetting, staining to endsheets; lacking dust jacket. 
"Well told and nicely set. The writer, who knows his Ireland, has a knack of drawing attractive places and bringing their independent life into likely connection with his plot."--Barzun and Taylor. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
5 Fleming, Elizabeth P. THE SPELL ON THE STONES
Philadelphia: The Westminster Press, (1961). First edition. Hardcover. Fine in teal cloth with titles in black; in an illustrated dust jacket with a touch of rubbing to the heel of the spine. Jacket and text illustrations by Georgeann Helms. 
Enchanting tale of an American boy's adventurous summer--spent on his grandmother's farm in Ireland--where while digging up an ancient cairn (a meeting place for the Little People), he unearths stones with a bad luck spell for the whole world. Scarce! 
Price: 50.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
6 Flint, Kenneth C. CROMM
New York: A Foundation Book/Doubleday, (1990). 0385267495 / 9780385267496 First edition. Hardcover. Fine in an illustrated dust jacket. Jacket art by Chris Hopkins. 
When Colin McMahon's dreams of a medieval world and a cruel deity named Cromm Cruaich begin to invade his waking life, he takes a pilgrimage to Ireland. There he learns Cromm's cult has returned and Colin must summon an ancient warrior to defeat it. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
7 Gill, Bartholomew THE DEATH OF AN IRISH LOVER
(New York): Avon Twilight, (2000). First edition: Uncorrected Proof. Proof. Fine in slick, illustrated wraps. 
An Inspector Peter McGarr mystery. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
8 Hart, Josephine THE RECONSTRUCTIONIST
Woodstock & New York: The Overlook Press, (2001). 1585671703 / 9781585671700 First U.S. edition: Advance Reading Copy. Proof. Fine in color illustrated wraps. 
A modern literary gothic similar in form to Hart's filmed novel DAMAGE. A psychiatrist dedicated to examining his client's pasts is compelled to reconstruct his own unexamined past. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
9 Hely, Sara THE LEGEND OF THE GREEN MAN
New York: Random House, (1972). First U.S. edition. Hardcover. Some fading to the cloth-backed green boards, else fine in pictorial dust jacket that shows some very pale age-toning. 
An Irish Scarlet Pimpernel is at the center of this historical romance "...in the tradition of Victoria Holt and Daphne du Maurier." The Green Man rides, spectre-like, before a moonlit castle in Wendell Minor's jacket painting. Hely's first book. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
10 Holland, Cecelia THE KINGS IN WINTER
New York: Pocket Books, (1969). First edition thus. A hint of edgewear and rubbing, pages lightly tanned, else a bright, unread nearly fine copy, in illustrated wraps. 
"A novel of subtle quality" (Saturday Review), set in medieval Ireland; at the center of Holland's tale is Muritagh, chief of the Cullinane clan, who at first is bent on ending the blood feud with the mac Mahon family, until his brother is murdered. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
11 Kerrigan, Philip DEAD GROUND
London: Macmillan, (1985). 0333397568 / 9780333397565 First edition. Hardcover. Fine copy in a fine dust jacket. 
An Irish-centered thriller in this debut novel. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
12 Llywelyn, Morgan THE ELEMENTALS
New York: Tor, (1993). 0312855680 / 9780312855680 First U.S. edition. Fine in dust jacket. 
A fantasy that "sweeps from the dawn of history to our own near future." By the author of BARD and LION OF IRELAND. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
13 McEldowney, Eugene A KIND OF HOMECOMING
London: Heinemann, (1994). 0434000051 / 9780434000050 First edition. Hardcover. Fine in a fine photo-pictorial dust jacket. 
Debut novel for McEldowney introduces Belfast police superintendent Cecil Megarry. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
14 McEldowney, Eugene THE SAD CASE OF HARPO HIGGINS
London: Heinemann, (1996). 0434003581 / 9780434003587 First edition. Hardcover. Tanning to half the text block (two different paper lots appear to have been used), else this is a fine copy in a photo-pictorial dust jacket. 
Third outing for Irish cop Cecil Megarry finds the superintendent on vacation in Dublin and unable to resist poking his nose into somebody else's case. "McEldowney has created a cop who outrivals Morse for angst and integrity."--Irish Independent. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
15 McGinley, Patrick FOGGAGE
London: Jonathan Cape, (1983). First U.K. edition. Hardcover. Lightly bumped corner tip, else a near fine copy in a dust jacket with minor shelfwear, else very good. 

Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
16 Moffat, Gwen OVER THE SEA TO DEATH
New York: Scribner's, (1976). 0684148080 / 9780684148083 First U.S. edition, first printing. Hardcover. Near fine copy in a lightly age-toned dust jacket. 
A Miss Pink crime novel by the author of MISS PINK AT THE EDGE OF THE WORLD. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
17 O'Connor, Ulick THE TROUBLES: Ireland: 1912-1922
Indianapolis/New York: The Bobbs-Merrill Company, Inc., (1975). 0672517515 / 9780672517518 First U.S. edition. Hardcover. Small sticker ghost to the front free endpaper, else fine; in an age-toned photo-pictorial dust jacket that shows a hint of edgewear. 181 pages, thirty-two b&w plates, bibliography, and an index. 
A crucial decade in Ireland's history: introduction of the Home Rule Bill set the stage for years of turbulence, and a literary renaissance was fueled by political passions. The poet/biographer conducted interviews with many of the leading figures. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
18 Petit, Chris THE PSALM KILLER
New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1997. 0679451269 / 9780679451266 First U.S. edition. Hardcover. Series of indentations to top edges, some mild soiling to top page edges, else near fine in a fine dust jacket. 
"A thriller that more than fills its end of the bargain: its grip tightens almost unbearably...but Petit never loses sight of the serious issues behind his story."--Nicholas Royle, TIME OUT. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
19 Petit, Chris THE PSALM KILLER
New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1997. 0679451269 / 9780679451266 First U.S. edition. Hardcover. Fine in a fine dust jacket. 
"Hugely impressive and highly readable...A deeply satisfying and sophisticated thriller which approaches the Northern Ireland conflict with the intelligence it deserves."--Nick Curtis. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
20 Potter, George TO THE GOLDEN DOOR: The Story Of The Irish In Ireland And America
Boston, Massachusetts: Little, Brown and Company, (1960). First edition. Hardcover. Corners slightly bumped, else very good plus in dust jacket with very short edge tears and a minor tar line on the rear. 
A study of the potato famine emigrants before and after. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
  1  2  NEXT >  


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to bookfellows@gowebway.com
Copyright©2016. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie