MYSTERY and  IMAGINATION

      on-line Bookstore

 Mystery, Detective, Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror


 
Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
BROWSE BY CATEGORY
Mystery.
Spy and Espionage Fiction.
Science Fiction/Fantasy.
Horror.
Ghost Stories.
Adventure Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Western Literature.
Black Literature.
Plays and Playwrights.
Poetry.
Literary Criticism.
Literary Biography.
Film History and Criticism.
Western Americana.
Californiana.
Children's Literature.
Illustrated Books.
Oziana.
Baumiana.
Signed.
Screenplays.
CHILDREN'S SHOWCASE
COMICS AND ANIMATION SHOWCASE
LITERATURE SHOWCASE
MYSTERY SHOWCASE
PERFORMING ARTS SHOWCASE
SF SHOWCASE
AMERICANA SHOWCASE
ART SHOWCASE
Paperback Originals.
Bibliomystery.

View a complete list of subjects
 
Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate
 
 
 

Bibliomystery.

Bibliomystery.

Click on Title to view full description

 
81 Morice, Anne PUBLISH AND BE KILLED
New York: St. Martin's, (1986). First U.S. edition. Hardcover. Fine copy in a dust jacket with a couple of short, edge tears, else very good plus. 
A Tessa Crichton mystery. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
82 Morison, B.J. THE MARTINI EFFECT
Unity, Maine: North Country Press, (1992). 0954980388 First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Faint foxing to the upper page edges, else near fine in green linen over cream boards with gilt titles to the spine; in a near fine dust jacket with several shelf edge tears. 
The fifth in the "Little Maine Murder" mystery series featuring the juvenile sleuth Elizabeth Lamb Worthington. In this installment Elizabeth is 13 years old and just starting prep-school at Mount Desert Island, Maine. 
Price: 12.50 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
83 Morton, William THE MYSTERY OF THE HUMAN BOOKCASE
New York City: Mason Publishing Company, (1931). First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Very good: mild soiling, spine fading, light wear at spine ends, spotting to page edges, owner's 1932-dated gift inscription; in orange cloth with black lettering; in a new, high-quality FACSIMILE dust jacket replicating the first edition art and blurbs. 
A manuscript provides a clue in the mystery of multiple murders solved by Kirker Cameron, Commissioner of Police who has learned his job at the Surete in Paris. Scarce bibliomystery. In Ballinger. 
Price: 75.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
84 Moyes, Patricia A SIX-LETTER WORD FOR DEATH
New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, (1983). 0030629780 / 9780030629785 First U.S. edition, first printing. Hardcover. Fine copy in a mildly age-toned dust jacket. 
Henry Tibbett must solve a murder at the annual literary weekend of the Guess Who, an exclusive mystery writer's club. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
85 Munslow, Bruce JOKER TAKE QUEEN
New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, (1965). First U.S. edition. Hardcover. Fine copy in a dust jacket with rubbing, else near fine. 

Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
86 Neville, Katherine THE MAGIC CIRCLE
New York: Ballantine Books, (1998). 034540792X / 9780345407924 First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Mild soiling to fore-edge, thus nearly fine, in a fine dust jacket. 
A novel by the author of THE EIGHT. After a scientist is murdered, his cousin unearths the two-thousand-year-old manuscripts he had been studying that may hold the key to a new power source. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
87 Offord, Lenore Glen THE GLASS MASK
New York: Duell, Sloan and Pearce, (1944). First edition. A Bloodhound Mystery. Hardcover. Very mild browning to edges of covers, a few tiny dots of stain to page edges, else very good plus; in age-toned pictorial dust jacket that shows a few edge-tears, and numerous tiny nibbled nicks at the spine and flap folds. 
Mystery writer Todd McKinnon, Georgine Wyeth and "irrepressible eight-year-old Barby" investigate a death in a gingerbread Victorian on the Pacific Coast. The trio made their debut in SKELETON KEY. Title is from Browning's "The Laboratory." 
Price: 50.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
88 Ogilvie, Elisabeth WHEN THE MUSIC STOPPED
New York: McGraw-Hill Publishing Company, (1989). 0070477922 / 9780070477926 First edition. Hardcover. Very nearly fine; in an age-toned wraparound illustrated dust jacket. 
Tale of mystery and dark intrigue set in the tranquil coastal community of of Job's Harbor, Maine, in which novelist Eden Winter finds herself caught up in a real-life mystery more chilling than any plot should could have devised. 
Price: 45.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
89 Philbrick, W.R. SHADOW KILLS
New York: Beaufort Books, (1985). 0825302838 / 9780825302831 First edition. Hardcover. Fine copy in a near fine, price-clipped, lightly age-toned dust jacket. 
By the author of WALK ON THE WATER, this is the story of a Boston mystery writer who gets involved in a real-life murder mystery. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
90 Pronzini, Bill UNDERCURRENT
Woodstock, Vermont: A Foul Play Press Book/The Countryman Press, (1984). 088150033X / 9780881500332 First paperback edition. Tiny nick to the heel of the spine, else fine in illustrated wraps. 
Bibliomystery: An old paperback mystery offers a lead in this third Nameless private eye novel. An unread copy. Scarce thus! 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
91 Rendell, Ruth FROM DOON WITH DEATH
Garden City, New York: Doubleday & Company , Inc., 1965. First U.S. edition. Hardcover. A very small, nearly transparent dot of soiling to front free endpaper, traces of stain to bottom edge, else a near fine copy in a lightly worn, nicked, age-toned and price-clipped pictorial dust jacket. 
Mysterious inscription in books unearthed in an attic lead to surprising revelations in this first published case for the redoubtable Inspector Wexford, and the first book in a long, distinguished and trail-blazing career for Rendell. 
Price: 500.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
92 Rendell, Ruth THE TREE OF HANDS
New York: Pantheon Books, (1984). 0394530985 / 9780394530987 First U.S. edition, first printing: Review copy, with publisher's materials laid in. Hardcover. Fine in grey linen over slate-green boards with copper titles to the spine; in a near fine dust jacket with a tiny snag--barely perceptible, to the lower front panel. 
The Edgar, Gold Dagger, and Silver Cup Award winner and acclaimed practitioner of classic psychological suspense features a best-selling novelist in this "warm yet chilling tale"--(Kirkus) that explores a destructive bond between parent and child. 
Price: 30.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
93 Roberts, Gillian HELEN HATH NO FURY
New York: Ballantine Books, (2000). First edition: Bound Galley. Fine in slick, printed wraps. 
Book ten in the Anthony Award winning series about Amanda Pepper, Philadelphia schoolteacher and amateur gumshoe. This one highlights murder in a book-discussion group! 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
94 Setterfield, Diane THE THIRTEENTH TALE
(London): (Orion Books), (2006). 0752875736 / 9780752875736 First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Fine, as-new, in a fine, as-new, dust jacket. 
SIGNED by the author to the title page. The author's gothic debut novel is a biblio-mystery which features a novelist and a biographer who seeks the truth from a missing book. The missing thirteenth tale reveals feral twins, a ghost, and a governess. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
95 Setterfield, Diane THE THIRTEENTH TALE
New York/London/Tornonto/Sydney/Tokyo/Singapore: Atria Books, (2006). 9780743298025 First U.S. edition, first printing. Hardcover. Fine, as-new, in a fine, as-new, dust jacket. 
A biblio-mystery in which a woman finds a parallel between her own life and that of the author in her researched literary biographies. The missing thirteenth tale reveals feral twins, a ghost, and a governess. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
96 Shechter, Harold THE TELL-TALE CORPSE: An Edgar Allan Poe Mystery
New York: Ballantine Books, (2006). 0345448421 / 9780345448422 First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Fine, as-new, in a fine, as-new, dust jacket. 
"In the third Edgar Allan Poe mystery, set in late 1845, the amateur sleuth (and would-be literary giant) takes a trip to Massachusetts, looking for a cure for his wife's illness...aided by a plucky sidekick, one Louisa May Alcott."--David Pitt. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
97 Shriner, Larry EPILOGUE FOR MURDER
New York: Walker, (1994). First edition. Hardcover. A fine copy in a fine dust jacket. 
The author's first novel. Review copy with materials laid in. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
98 Skom, Edith THE CHARLES DICKENS MURDERS
(New York, New York): Delacorte Press, (1998). 038531230X / 9780385312301 First edition, first printing: Review copy, with publisher's materials laid in. Hardcover. Fine in a fine dust jacket. 
A Beth Austin mystery. "In the vein of Amanda Cross and P.D. James--a literary mystery told with wit and skill."--The Dallas Morning News. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
99 Stout, Rex PLOT IT YOURSELF: A Nero Wolfe Novel
New York: The Viking Press, 1959. First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Name and date to the front endpaper, else very good plus; in a lightly shelfworn, very good plus illustrated dust jacket with mild chipping to the spine ends and corner tips. 
"There is a plot to accuse America's leading publishers and writers of plagarism and in doing so blackmail them into not appearing in court. The of course come to Nero Wolfe for help."--John Ballinder. Bibliomystery. 
Price: 50.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
100 Swain, Don THE H.L. MENCKEN MURDER CASE
New York: St. Martin's, (1988). 0312022174 / 9780312022174 First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Fine copy in a fine dust jacket. 
"A literate mystery novel, which is a pleasure to read. Swain's command of the American vernacular does Mencken proud...brings his characters, including Mencken, to life and brilliantly re-creates New York in 1948."--Hugh Nissenson. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
< PREV  1 2 3 4   5  6  NEXT >  


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to bookfellows@gowebway.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie