MYSTERY and  IMAGINATION

      on-line Bookstore

 Mystery, Detective, Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror


 
Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
BROWSE BY CATEGORY
Mystery.
Spy and Espionage Fiction.
Science Fiction/Fantasy.
Horror.
Ghost Stories.
Adventure Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Western Literature.
Black Literature.
Plays and Playwrights.
Poetry.
Literary Criticism.
Literary Biography.
Film History and Criticism.
Western Americana.
Californiana.
Children's Literature.
Illustrated Books.
Oziana.
Baumiana.
Signed.
Screenplays.
CHILDREN'S SHOWCASE
COMICS AND ANIMATION SHOWCASE
LITERATURE SHOWCASE
MYSTERY SHOWCASE
PERFORMING ARTS SHOWCASE
SF SHOWCASE
AMERICANA SHOWCASE
ART SHOWCASE
Paperback Originals.
Bibliomystery.

View a complete list of subjects
 
Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate
 
 
 

Historical Fiction.

Historical Fiction.

Click on Title to view full description

 
201 Heaven, Constance LORD OF RAVENSLEY
New York: Coward, McCann & Geoghegan, Inc., (1978). 698108566 First U.S. edition: Review copy, with publisher's slip and folded promotional sheet laid in. Hardcover. Fine in mauve cloth over blue boards; in a near fine dust jacket with a hint of creasing to the upper spine extremities. 
Acclaimed author and master of the gothic novel here presents a story of historical romance complete with upper and lower class villains and innocents spiced with romantic subplots. Ravensley is a majestic manor house among the farmlands of East Anglia. 
Price: 35.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
202 Heaven, Constance LORD OF RAVENSLEY
New York: Coward, McCann & Geoghegan, Inc., (1978). 698108566 First U.S. edition. Hardcover. Fine in mauve cloth over sky-blue boards; in a near fine dust jacket with a minor crease to the rear panel and a tiny tear to the lower front edge. 
The author's seventh novel of historical romance features Oliver Ayslam who is spurned by his beloved when he loses his title as Lord of Ravensley. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
203 Heaven, Constance THE ASTROV LEGACY
(New York): Coward, McCann & Geoghegan, Inc., (1973). 698105192 First U.S. edition. Hardcover. A near fine copy in cream-colored cloth over rose-colored boards with gilt titles to the spine; in a near fine dust jacket with tiny closed tears to the upper edge of the rear panel. 
The British writer's second novel is an aristocratic historical drama set in Pre-Revolutionary Russia and features Sophie Weston who falls in love with a member of an opposing Royal family. 
Price: 35.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
204 Heck, Peter J. THE PRINCE AND THE PROSECUTOR
New York: Berkley Prime Crime, (1997). 0425159701 / 9780425159705 First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Fine in a fine, illustrated dust jacket, with jacket illustrations by Teresa Fasolino. 
A Mark Twain mystery. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
205 Hely, Sara THE LEGEND OF THE GREEN MAN
New York: Random House, (1972). First U.S. edition. Hardcover. Some fading to the cloth-backed green boards, else fine in pictorial dust jacket that shows some very pale age-toning. 
An Irish Scarlet Pimpernel is at the center of this historical romance "...in the tradition of Victoria Holt and Daphne du Maurier." The Green Man rides, spectre-like, before a moonlit castle in Wendell Minor's jacket painting. Hely's first book. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
206 Herbert, Kathleen GHOST IN THE SUNLIGHT
New York: St. Martin's Press, (1986). 0312001266 / 9780312001261 First U.S. edition. Hardcover. A very nearly fine copy in blue boards lettered in gilt; in a lightly edgeworn illustrated dust jacket which shows mild fading to the spine panel and a few tiny closed edge tears. 
Tale of adventure and high romance set in ancient (7th century) England, sequel to the author's QUEEN OF THE LIGHTNING--which won Britain's Historical Novel Prize in memory of Georgette Heyer. BRIDE OF THE SPEAR (1988) completes the Dark Ages Trilogy. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
207 Herschler, Mildred Barger THE WALK INTO MORNING
New York: Tor/A Tom Doherty Associates Book, (1993). 0312854250 / 9780312854256 First edition. Hardcover. Fine in a photo-pictorial dust jacket with minor shelfwear and a small area of lamination peel to the front panel. Map of Louisiana and Mississippi 1862-1863. 
Herschler is a poet whose pieces have appeared in THE CRISIS, and is the author of a biography of Frederick Douglass, written for children. Her debut novel follows a young slave as he runs away to join the Louisiana Native Guard during the Civil War. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
208 Heyer, Georgette THE GRAND SOPHY
New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, (1950). First U.S. edition, first printing. Hardcover. Rear pastedown endpaper has been scarred and damaged, dampstain to the heel of the spine, shelfwear and bumping to the extremities, else very good; in a very good, shelfworn, nicked, and lightly trimmed illustrated dust jacket. 
"A gay sparkling romance by one of the most accomplished novelists of the day."--Chicago Tribune. "The Regency period is peculiarly Miss Heyer's own and THE GRAND SOPHY is one of her very best."--Saturday Review. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
209 Highsmith, Domini KEEPER AT THE SHRINE
New York: St. Martin's, (1994). 031213102X / 9780312131029 First U.S. edition. Hardcover. Fine copy in a fine dust jacket. 
A medieval mystery. "A crackling good read. Murder, treachery, corruption and romance- it's got the lot with the added bonus that Miss Highsmith is a damn good writer with lots of imagination." --Bradford Telegraph 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
210 Highwater, Jamake JOURNEY TO THE SKY: A novel about the true adventures of two men in search of the lost Maya kingdom
New York: Thomas Y. Crowell, Publishers, (1978). 0690017588 / 9780690017588 First edition. Hardcover. Nearly fine, in gilt-stamped brown cloth shelfback over tan boards; in a near fine illustrated dust jacket with a few very short closed edge tears, vertical crease to front flap. 
Novelized account of John Lloyd Stephens and Frederick Catherwood's journey by steamboat and mule through Central America, where almost by chance they stumbled upon the remains of the remarkable Mayan empire. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
211 Hills, Kathleen HUNTER'S DANCE
(Scottsdale, Az.): Poisoned Pen Press, (2004). 159058094X / 9781590580943 First edition, first printing: Review copy, with publisher's materials laid in. Hardcover. Fine in a fine dust jacket. 
The second installment in the mystery series set in 1950s Michigan and featuring reluctant constable John McIntire; this time its open season for deer, grouse, uranium, love, escape, a husband, and a murderer. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
212 Hitt, James E. TENNESSE SMITH
New York: Thomas Congdon Books/E.P. Dutton, (1979). 0525215468 / 9780525215462 First edition, first printing. Hardcover. Fine, in gilt-lettered white cloth shelfback over green boards; with light blue top-edge tint; in a fine, mildly age-toned illustrated dust jacket. Jacket illustration by Robert Lapsley. 
Romantic adventure of the Reconstruction South. "I have tried to illustrate...the civilizing of a human being. This theme is at one with the developing love story, since man's treatment of woman is the touchstone of civilization."--Hitt. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
213 Holden, Craig THE JAZZ BIRD
New York: Simon & Schuster, (2002). 0743212967 / 9780743212960 First edition: Uncorrected Proof. Proof. Fine in yellow printed wraps. 
The author's fourth novel is a mystery set in the jazz era of the roaring twenties. Holden based this legal thriller on an actual murder trial of a powerful and wealthy bootlegger. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
214 Holden, Craig THE JAZZ BIRD
New York: Simon & Schuster, (2002). 0743212967 / 9780743212960 First edition. Hardcover. Fine in a fine photo-pictorial dust jacket. 
The author's fourth novel is a mystery set in the jazz era of the roaring twenties. Holden based this legal thriller on an actual murder trial of a powerful and wealthy bootlegger. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
215 Holland, Cecelia AN ORDINARY WOMAN: A Dramatized Biography of Nancy Kelsey
New York: Forge/A Tom Doherty Associates Book, (1999). 0312865287 / 9780312865283 First edition: Review copy, with publisher's materials laid in. Hardcover. Fine, as new, in a like dust jacket. 
"The Remarkable Story of the First American Woman in California." In the spring of 1841, a courageous young woman named Nancy Kelsey set out from Missouri with her husband and infant daughter on a trek that would lead her into the pages of history. 
Price: 30.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
216 Holland, Cecelia RAKOSSY
New York: Atheneum, 1967. First edition. Hardcover. A slightly musty copy with some light foxing to the page fore-edges; the upper corner tip is lightly bumped, otherwise a very good plus copy in a slightly nicked dust jacket. 
A novel of the Turk-Magyar wars of the sixteenth century. A relatively scarce title. 
Price: 75.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
217 Holland, Cecelia THE FIREDRAKE
(London): Hodder and Stoughton, (1966). First U.K. edition, first printing. Hardcover. Fine in bright marigold cloth with black spine lettering; in a lightly soiled and edgeworn dust jacket, with one short closed tear to spine head. 
"This first novel, by a girl just turned 22, is a work of maturity, craftsmanship, and force...Is this greatness or only great precocity? Time will tell, but I'm betting on greatness."--Digby Whitman. Set in 11th century Europe. 
Price: 50.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
218 Holland, Cecelia THE KINGS IN WINTER
New York: Pocket Books, (1969). First edition thus. A hint of edgewear and rubbing, pages lightly tanned, else a bright, unread nearly fine copy, in illustrated wraps. 
"A novel of subtle quality" (Saturday Review), set in medieval Ireland; at the center of Holland's tale is Muritagh, chief of the Cullinane clan, who at first is bent on ending the blood feud with the mac Mahon family, until his brother is murdered. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
219 Holland, Cecelia UNTIL THE SUN FALLS
New York: Atheneum, 1969. First edition. Hardcover. Hint of fading to the boards (as usual), crown of the spine lightly bumped and creased, page edges mildly soiled, else a very good copy; in a lightly shelfworn dust jacket with corresponding creases and nicks to the upper spine. 
The story of the invasion of Russia and Eastern Europe is narrated by Holland in this "vivid and exciting tale." 
Price: 75.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
220 Holland, Cecelia UNTIL THE SUN FALLS
New York: Atheneum, 1969. First edition. Hardcover. Hint of fading to the boards (as usual), else a fine copy in an illustrated dust jacket with a very slight nick to the upper spine. 
A tale of the Mongrol invasion of Russia and Eastern Europe by the fine historical novelist. "She belongs to that small band of writers who can still show us what distinction the historical novel can attain."--The Times Literary Supplement. 
Price: 125.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
<< Skip 10  < PREV    11  12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20  NEXT >   Skip 10 >>


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to bookfellows@gowebway.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie